Academic Calendar 2022 - 2023

The academic calendar of Lake Forest College is based on two 15-week semesters (14 weeks of classes plus a 5-day final exam period), from late August through mid-December and from mid-January to early May. Students normally take four course credits per semester (the equivalent of 16 semester hours). All courses run for 15 weeks.

Three summer sessions offer a number of courses, the great majority being taught by regular members of the College’s faculty. Each session is four weeks in length, during which a student may enroll in a single course.

Fall Semester 2022


Thursday, August 25

First day of classes 


Thursday, September 1

Last day for permissible change of registration 


Thursday, September 22

Academic Early Alerts due 


Monday, October 17

Mid-semester break 


Tuesday, October 18

Mid-semester break 


Wednesday, October 19

Classes resume 


Friday, October 28

Last day for approved withdrawal from a course with an automatic “W” and last day to register for Pass-Fail option

Wednesday, November 23

Thanksgiving break 


Thursday, November 24

Thanksgiving break 


Friday, November 25

Thanksgiving break 


Monday, November 28

Classes resume 


Wednesday, December 7

Last day of classes 


Thursday, December 8

Reading day 


Friday, December 9

Final exams 


Saturday, December 10

Reading days

Sunday, December 11
Reading days 


Monday, December 12

Final exams 


Tuesday, December 13

Final exams 


Wednesday, December 14

Final exams 


Thursday, December 15

Final exams 


Spring Semester 2023


Tuesday, January 17

First day of classes 


Tuesday, January 24

Last day for permissible change of registration

Tuesday, February 14

Academic Early Alerts due 


Monday, March 13
Mid-semester break 


Tuesday, March 14

Mid-semester break 


Wednesday, March 15

Mid-semester break 


Thursday, March 16

Mid-semester break 


Friday, March 17

Mid-semester break

Monday, March 20

Classes resume 


Monday, March 27

Last day for approved withdrawal from a course with an automatic “W” and last day to register for Pass-Fail option 


Tuesday, April 11

Student Symposium

Tuesday, May 2

Last day of classes

Wednesday, May 3

Reading days 


Thursday, May 4

Reading days 


Friday, May 5

Final exams 


Saturday, May 6

Final exams 


Sunday, May 7

Reading day 


Monday, May 8

Final exams 


Tuesday, May 9

Final exams 


Wednesday, May 10

Final exams 


Saturday, May 13

Commencement 


Summer 2023

Learn more about the Summer Session at Lake Forest College. 


May Term

Tuesday, May 16

May Term: classes begin 


Thursday, May 18

May Term: last day for permissible change of registration 


Friday, May 26

May Term: last day for withdrawal with automatic W and P/F registration

Monday, May 29

May Term: no class on Memorial Day 


Thursday, June 8

May Term: last day of classes 


Friday, June 9

May Term: final exams 


June Term

Monday, June 12

June Term: classes begin 


Wednesday, June 14

June Term: last day for permissible change of registration 


Thursday, June 22

June Term: last day for withdrawal with automatic W and P/F registration 


Tuesday, July 4

June Term: no classes on July 4th 


Thursday, July 6

June Term: last day of classes 


Friday, July 7

June Term: final exams 


July Term

Monday, July 10

July Term: classes begin

Wednesday, July 12

July Term: last day for permissible change of registration

Thursday, July 20

July Term: last day for withdrawal with automatic W and P/F registration 


Wednesday, August 2

July Term: last day of classes 


Thursday, August 3

July Term: final exams