Academic Calendar 2023 - 2024

The academic calendar of Lake Forest College is based on two 15-week semesters (14 weeks of classes plus a 5-day final exam period), from late August through mid-December and from mid-January to early May. Students normally take four course credits per semester (the equivalent of 16 semester hours). All courses run for 15 weeks.

Three summer sessions offer a number of courses, the great majority being taught by regular members of the College’s faculty. Each session is four weeks in length, during which a student may enroll in a single course.

Fall Semester 2023


Thursday, August 24


First day of classes 


Thursday, August 31

Last day for permissible change of registration 


Thursday, September 21

Academic Early Alerts due 


Monday, October 16


Mid-semester break 


Tuesday, October 17


Mid-semester break 


Wednesday, October 18


Classes resume 


Friday, October 27


Last day for approved withdrawal from a course with an automatic “W” and last day to register for Pass-Fail option 


Wednesday, November 22

Thanksgiving break 


Thursday, November 23


Thanksgiving break 


Friday, November 24


Thanksgiving break 


Monday, November 27


Classes resume 


Wednesday, December 6

Last day of classes 


Thursday, December 7

Reading day 


Friday, December 8

Final exams 


Saturday, December 9

Reading days 


Sunday, December 10


Reading days 


Monday, December 11

Final exams 


Tuesday, December 12

Final exams 


Wednesday, December 13

Final exams 


Thursday, December 14


Final exams 


Spring Semester 2024

Tuesday, January 16

First day of classes 


Tuesday, January 23


Last day for permissible change of registration 


Tuesday, February 13


Academic Early Alerts due 


Monday, March 11

Mid-semester break 


Tuesday, March 12


Mid-semester break 


Wednesday, March 13


Mid-semester break 


Thursday, March 14

Mid-semester break 


Friday, March 15

Mid-semester break 


Monday, March 18

Classes resume 


Monday, March 25


Last day for approved withdrawal from a course with an automatic “W” and last day to register for Pass-Fail option 


Tuesday, April 9


Student Symposium 


Tuesday, April 30

Last day of classes 


Wednesday, May 1

Reading days 


Thursday, May 2


Reading days 


Friday, May 3


Final exams 


Saturday, May 4

Final exams 


Sunday, May 5


Reading day 


Monday, May 6


Final exams 


Tuesday, May 7


Final exams 


Wednesday, May 8


Final exams 


Saturday, May 11


Commencement 



Summer 2024  

Learn more about the Summer Session at Lake Forest College. 


May Term

Tuesday, May 14

May Term: classes begin 


Thursday, May 16

May Term: last day for permissible change of registration 


Friday, May 24

May Term: last day for withdrawal with automatic W and P/F registration 


Monday, May 27

May Term: no class on Memorial Day

Thursday, June 6

May Term: last day of classes

Friday, June 7


May Term: final exams 


June Term

Monday, June 10


June Term: classes begin 


Wednesday, June 12

June Term: last day for permissible change of registration 


Thursday, June 20


June Term: last day for withdrawal with automatic W and P/F registration 


Tuesday, July 2


June Term: last day of classes 


Wednesday, July 3


June Term: final exams 


Thursday, July 4

June Term: no classes on July 4th 


July Term

Monday, July 8

July Term: classes begin 


Wednesday, July 10


July Term: last day for permissible change of registration 


Thursday, July 18


July Term: last day for withdrawal with automatic W and P/F registration 


Wednesday, July 31

July Term: last day of classes 


Thursday, August 1

July Term: final exams